Contact Us

HF- und thermische Simulation von Straight Ridge Waveguide Coupler

ZUHAUSE / Anwendungen / HF- und thermische Simulation von Straight Ridge Waveguide Coupler

Anwendungen

Gebrauchte Werkzeuge:

Einführung

Rechteckwellenleiter vom Typ WR2300 mit halber Höhe werden häufig zum Koppeln von Leistung verwendet, um den Hohlraum durch eine Iris zwischen dem Endgrat und dem Beschleunigerhohlraum zu beschleunigen. Die vorliegende Studie konzentriert sich jedoch nur auf den Übergangsteil, da die Iriskopplung in Abhängigkeit von der Art des Hohlraums und den Kopplungsanforderungen angepasst wird. Die interessierenden Parameter in Hochleistungsbeschleunigersystemen sind Rückflussdämpfung, Einfügungsdämpfung, Resonanzfrequenz und deren thermisches Verhalten.

Diese Studie veranschaulicht die Konstruktions- und Simulationsfunktionen, die das Duo SolidWorks und HFWorks verwenden, um Benutzern das Vorstellen und Konstruieren von HF-Kopplern zu ermöglichen. Eine gekoppelte RF-zu-Thermo-Analyse des Wellenleiters wird vorgestellt. Zur Simulation dieses Wellenleiters wird das S-Parameter-Modul von HFWorks mit Kopplung an Thermal verwendet.

Design und Simulation

Abbildung 1 zeigt die mit SolidWorks erstellte Kopplerstruktur. Diese Struktur besteht aus drei Teilen. Ein ankommender rechteckiger WR2300-Wellenleiter halber Höhe mit der Bezeichnung Teil I, ein Wellenleiter mittlerer Rippe mit der Bezeichnung Teil II und eine Endrippe mit der Bezeichnung Teil III, wie in Fig. 2 gezeigt. Die Gesamtgröße des Wellenleiterkopplers mit geradem Steg beträgt 400 mm x 400 mm x 150 mm .

Das 3D-Solidworks-Modell eines Wellenleiterkopplers mit geradem Grat
Abbildung 1 - Das 3D-Solidworks-Modell eines Wellenleiterkopplers mit geradem Grat

Das schematische Diagramm der Seitenansicht des Wellenleiterkopplers ist in Abbildung 2 dargestellt. Die Variation der Grenzfrequenz in Abhängigkeit von der Firstlücke für den TE 10- Modus wird mit ATLASS [1] simuliert und in Abbildung 3 dargestellt.

Das Prinzipschaltbild des Wellenleiterkopplers
Abbildung 2 - Das schematische Diagramm des Wellenleiterkopplers

Die geometrischen Parameter können in einer Datei definiert und mit der Funktion Gleichungen der Software in Solidworks importiert werden. Diese Parameter sind in Tabelle 1 zusammengefasst.

Tabelle 1 - Maßangaben des Kupplers
Maßangaben des Kupplers

Ergebnisse

Fig. 3 zeigt die Änderung der Grenzfrequenz für den TE 10- Modus unter Verwendung von ATLASS durch Ändern des Gratabstands.

Grenzfrequenz in Abhängigkeit vom Kammspalt
Abbildung 3 - Grenzfrequenz in Abhängigkeit vom Kammspalt

Die mit HFWorks simulierte Rückflussdämpfung S 11 und Einfügungsdämpfung S 21 sowie die Messergebnisse des Kopplers sind in Abbildung 4 dargestellt. Der Wellenleiterkoppler schwingt mit 0,353 GHz mit, wie in Abbildung 4 gezeigt.

Rückführungs- und Einfügungsverluste des geraden Stegwellenleiterkopplers
Abbildung 4 - Rückführungs- und Einfügungsverluste des Wellenleiterkopplers mit geradem Grat

HFWorks berechnet automatisch den Leiterverlust, dh die Wärmebelastung der Kopplerwände und speist ihn unter der Annahme einer Einfallsleistung von 250 kW in das Wärmemodul ein. Für die Umgebungsluft wird ein Wärmeübergangskoeffizient (h) von 1000 W/m 2 K und eine Umgebungstemperatur von 293 K angenommen.

Temperaturverteilung bei 0,353 GHz und einer Einfallsleistung von 250 kW
Abbildung 5 - Die Temperaturverteilung bei 0,353 GHz und einer Einfallsleistung von 250 kW

Die Temperaturverteilung ist in Abbildung 5 dargestellt. Es ist klar, dass die Temperatur trotz der einfallenden Leistung von 250 kW nur wenig ansteigt, wodurch sichergestellt wird, dass keine thermostrukturellen Defekte am Wellenleiter auftreten.

Fazit

Ein HF-Wellenleiterkoppler mit geradem Grat zum Koppeln der Leistung an Beschleuniger wird mit HFWorks simuliert. Der Einfügungsverlust, der Rückflussverlust und die Resonanzfrequenz werden dargestellt und mit gemessenen Daten [2] verglichen, die eine gute Übereinstimmung zeigen. Leider hat die Referenz keine thermische Simulation. Daher präsentieren wir die thermischen Ergebnisse ohne Vergleich mit irgendwelchen Referenzen.

Verweise

[1] https://www.emworks.com/product/ATLASS
[2] Rajesh Kumar, Mentes Jose, G.N. Singh, Girish Kumar and P.V. Bhagwat "RF characterization and testing of ridge waveguide transitions for RF power couplers ", published at Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A 838, pp. 66-7, 2016

Home / HFWorks / Applications / RF and Thermal Simulation of Straight Ridge Waveguide Coupler

RF and Thermal Simulation of Straight Ridge Waveguide Coupler Application


Introduction

Rectangular waveguides of WR2300 half height type are widely used for coupling power to accelerate cavity through an iris between the end ridge and the accelerator cavity. The present study focuses, however, on the transition part only as the iris coupling is adjusted depending on the type of cavity and coupling requirements. The parameters of interest in high power accelerators systems are returns loss, insertion loss, resonant frequency, and its thermal behavior.

This study illustrates the design and simulation features using the duo SolidWorks and HFWorks to enable users to envision and design RF couplers. A coupled RF to thermal analysis of the waveguide is presented. The S-Parameters module of HFWorks with coupling to thermal is used to simulate this waveguide.

Design and Simulation

Figure1, shows the coupler structure designed with SolidWorks. This structure consists of three parts. An incoming rectangular WR2300 half height waveguide named part I, a central ridge waveguide named part II, and an end ridge named part III, as shown in Figure2. The overall size of the straight ridge waveguide coupler is 400mm x 400mm x 150mm.

The 3D Solidworks model of straight ridge waveguide coupler
 
Figure 1 - The 3D Solidworks model of straight ridge waveguide coupler
 

The schematic diagram of the side view of the waveguide coupler is shown in Figure2. The variation of the cut off frequency as a function of the ridge gap for TE10 mode is simulated using ATLASS[1]  and shown in Figure3. 

 
The schematic diagram of the waveguide coupler
 
Figure 2 - The schematic diagram of the waveguide coupler
 

The geometrical parameters can be defined in a file and imported into Solidworks using the Equations feature of the software. These parameters are summarized in Table 1. 

 
Table 1 - Dimensional details of the coupler
 
Dimensional details of the coupler
  

Results

Figure3, shows the variation of the cut off frequency for TE10 mode using ATLASS, by varying the ridge gap. 

Cut off frequency in function of ridge gap
 
Figure 3 - Cut off frequency in function of ridge gap
 

The simulated return loss S11 and insertion loss S21 using HFWorks and the measured results of the coupler are depicted in Figure4.  The waveguide coupler resonates at 0.353 GHz, as shown in Figure4.

 
Return and insertion losses of the straight ridge waveguide coupler
 
Figure 4 - Return and insertion losses of the straight ridge waveguide coupler
 

HFWorks automatically computes the conductor loss, i.e. the thermal load, on the coupler walls and feeds it into the thermal module assuming an incident power of 250kW.  The surrounding air is assumed to have a connective heat transfer coefficient (h) of  1000W / m2 and an ambient temperature of 293 K.

 
temperature distribution at 0.353 GHz and an incident power of 250kW
 
Figure 5 - The temperature distribution at 0.353 GHz and an incident power of 250kW
 

The distribution of the temperature is shown in Figure5.  Clearly, there is little increase in the temperature despite the incident power of 250kW which assures the absence of any thermos-structural defect on the waveguide.

Conclusion

An RF straight ridge waveguide coupler for coupling power to accelerators is simulated using HFWorks. The insertion loss, return loss, and the resonant frequency are presented and compared to measured data [2] showing a good agreement. Unfortunately, the reference does not have any thermal simulation. Therefore, we present the thermal results without comparing to any reference.

References

[1] https://www.emworks.com/product/ATLASS
[2] Rajesh Kumar, Mentes Jose, G.N. Singh, Girish Kumar and P.V. Bhagwat "RF characterization and testing of ridge waveguide transitions for RF power couplers ", published at Nuclear Instruments and Methods in Physics Research A 838, pp. 66-7, 2016