Contact Us

3D-FEM-Simulation eines nichtlinearen Gleichstromschützes

HOME / Anwendungen / 3D-FEM-Simulation eines nichtlinearen Gleichstromschützes
WEBINAR
Magnetostriction Modeling of Transformer's Noise
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Time
SESSION 1
SESSION 2
CET (GMT +1)
03:00 PM
08:00 PM
EST (GMT -4)
09:00 AM
02:00 PM
Gebrauchte Werkzeuge:

Einführung

Magnetische Aktuatoren basieren auf einem elektromagnetischen Feld, um elektrische Energie in mechanische Energie umzuwandeln. Abhängig von der Art der erzeugten Bewegung; Bei elektromagnetischen Antrieben mit linearer oder rotatorischer Bewegung werden zwei Kategorien unterschieden: rotatorischer und linearer Antrieb.
Unter den Anwendungen von Gleichstromaktoren finden wir die elektromagnetischen Schütze, die auf linearer Bewegung basieren. Sie werden häufig zum Herstellen und Unterbrechen von Verbindungen als Schaltgeräte für elektrische Energiequellen verwendet. Sie bestehen in der Regel aus Permanentmagneten, Magnetspulen und ferromagnetischen Teilen.

In vielen industriellen Anwendungen ist die energiesparende Leistung von Geräten oft ein sehr attraktiver Vorteil. Insbesondere ein neuer Typ eines elektronisch gesteuerten Gleichstromschützes in Verbindung mit einem Permanentmagneten hat in den letzten Jahren aufgrund seiner herausragenden Vorteile, wie der Energieeinsparung und der Geräuschfreiheit, immer mehr Aufmerksamkeit auf sich gezogen.

Das untersuchte Gleichstromschütz besteht aus drei Teilen: einem nichtlinearen ferromagnetischen Kern mit zwei beweglichen und festen Teilen, die durch eine Gleichstromkupferspule erregt werden (siehe Abbildung 1).

Schematische Darstellung des Gleichstromschützes
Abbildung 1 - Schematische Darstellung des Gleichstromschützes

Problembeschreibung

Das magnetostatische Modul von EMS wird verwendet, um die erzeugte Kraft über den Luftspalt zwischen dem unteren und oberen beweglichen Teil des nichtlinearen ferromagnetischen Kerns zu berechnen. Das simulierte Modell hat eine Translationsinvarianz entlang der z-Achse. Die Arbeitsspule besteht aus 1000 Windungen Kupferdraht, die einen Gleichstrom von 2A führen. Der Luftspalt zwischen feststehendem und beweglichem Teil ist auf 5 mm eingestellt. Das 3D-Design des untersuchten Modells mit den detaillierten Abmessungen ist in Abbildung 2 dargestellt.
a) 3D-Entwurf, b) Frontal- und c) Seitenansicht des Gleichstromschützes
Abbildung 2 - a) 3D-Entwurf, b) Frontal- und c) Seitenansicht des Gleichstromschützes
Die physikalischen Eigenschaften des für die Arbeitsspule verwendeten Kupfers sind in der folgenden Tabelle 1 definiert:
Tabelle 1 - Materialeigenschaften

Material
Dichte
( begin mathsize 12px style K g dividiert durch m cubed end style )
Magnetische Permeabilität Elektrische Leitfähigkeit
(S/m)
Wärmeleitfähigkeit
(W/mK)
Spezifische Wärmekapazität
(J/Kg.K)
Kupfer (Cu) 8900 0,99 6 E + 07 385 390



Der Kern besteht aus nichtlinearem ferromagnetischem Material, für das die BH-Beziehung durch den folgenden Ausdruck definiert werden kann:
B linke Klammer H rechte Klammer Leerzeichen gleich mu Index 0 H Leerzeichen plus Leerzeichen Bruchzahl 2 J s über Nenner gerader Pi Endbruch Bogen tan offene Klammern Bruchzahl gerader Pi linke Klammer gerade mu Index gerader R Leerzeichen minus 1 rechte Klammer gerader Mu Index 0 Raumende Index gerade H über Nenner 2 Js Endbruch enge Klammern [1]
Mit: J s entspricht 1 Leerzeichen T e s l a : Sättigungswert des B-Feldes
mu tiefgestelltes r entspricht 1000 : Anfangspermeabilität
mu Index 0 entspricht 4 geraden pi 10 der Potenz des negativen 7-Ende-Exponenten : Vakuumdurchlässigkeit

Die entsprechende BH-Kurve wird durch das nächste 2D-Diagramm definiert:
BH-Kurve
Abbildung 3 - BH-Kurve

Die Netzqualität ist für jede FEM-Simulation von entscheidender Bedeutung. Die Ergebnisgenauigkeit und die Lösungszeit hängen stark von der Maschenweite ab. Mit EMS kann der Benutzer die Maschengröße von Volumenkörpern und Flächen über die Netzsteuerungsfunktion steuern. In diesem Beispiel ein feinmaschiges Steuerelement
Wurde für genauere Ergebnisse auf unser untersuchtes Modell angewendet.
Das vermaschte Modell
Abbildung 4 - Das vermaschte Modell

Ergebnisse

Das Arbeitsprinzip des Magnetschützes besteht darin, einen Gleichstrom durch eine Multiturn-Spule zu leiten, die einen statischen Magnetfluss erzeugen kann. Die magnetische Flussdichte erzeugt eine konstante Magnetkraft auf den sich bewegenden Teil des ferromagnetischen Kerns. Die magnetostatische Simulation ergab die in den folgenden Abbildungen gezeigten Ergebnisse.

1. Elektromagnetische Analyse

Die Verteilung der Flussdichte über den ferromagnetischen Kern für eine Stromerregung von 2A erreicht einen Maximalwert von 0,98 T, wie in Abbildung 5 gezeigt.
Franse
Vektordiagramm der magnetischen Flussverteilung
Abbildung 5 - a) Streifen- und b) Vektordiagramm der magnetischen Flussverteilung

Die Magnetkraftverteilung über den Bereich zwischen dem beweglichen und dem festen Teil ist in Abbildung 6 dargestellt. Sie wird innerhalb von EMS durch eine virtuelle Arbeitsfunktion berechnet.
Vektordiagramm der Verteilung der Kraftdichte
Abbildung 6 - Vektordiagramm der Kraftdichteverteilung

2.Elektromagnetische Analyse gekoppelt mit der SOLIDWORKS-Bewegung

Durch die Kopplung des Magnetostatic-Moduls von EMS mit der Bewegung in SOLIDWORKS nutzt der Solver von SW Motion die berechnete Kraft und wandelt sie in eine mechanische Bewegung um. Es ermöglicht die Visualisierung der Veränderung der Position des sich bewegenden Teils in Abhängigkeit von der Zeit.
Unter einer festen Stromerregung von 2A und nach t=3,5 ms ergab die Simulation die nächsten Ergebnisse. Die Variation der erzeugten Kraft und der Schwerpunktposition des sich bewegenden Teils gegenüber der Zeit sind in Fig. 7 angegeben. Diese Position gibt eine Vorstellung über die Variation des Luftspalts zwischen den beiden Teilen des Magnetschützes gegenüber der Zeit. Sie nimmt von d=5 mm auf d=2,3 mm ab.
Variation erzwingen
Schwerpunktlage des beweglichen Teils über der Zeit.
Abbildung 7 - a) Kraftänderung und b) Schwerpunktposition des beweglichen Teils über der Zeit.

Die momentane lineare Geschwindigkeit konnte durch SOLIDWORKS Bewegungsanalyse berechnet und durch die EMS-Ergebnistabelle visualisiert werden. Es hat einen Maximalwert von 1,77 m/s bei t=3,5 ms. Es wirkt proportional zur erzeugten Kraft.
Variation der Lineargeschwindigkeit über der Zeit
Abbildung 8 - Variation der Lineargeschwindigkeit über der Zeit.
Animation der magnetischen Flussdichte in Abhängigkeit von der Verschiebung des beweglichen Teils
Abbildung 9 - Animation der magnetischen Flussdichte in Abhängigkeit von der Verschiebung des beweglichen Teils

3.Parametrische Analyse

EMS ermöglicht die Analyse der verschiedenen Aspekte des untersuchten Elektromagneten durch Durchlaufen verschiedener Szenarien in einer einzigen Studie, indem sowohl Simulations- als auch geometrische Variablen parametrisiert werden.

Dieses Merkmal wird verwendet, um die erzeugte Kraft des untersuchten Schützes gegen die Stromerregung und den Luftspaltabstand zwischen den beiden Teilen zu berechnen.

Die ausgewählten Parametervariablen sind in der folgenden Tabelle aufgeführt:

Tabelle 2 - Simulationsszenarien
Szenarien Luftspaltlänge (mm) Strom (A)
Szenario 1 1 1
Szenario 2 2 1
Szenario 3 3 1
Szenario 4 4 1
Szenario 5 1 2
Szenario 6 2 2
Szenario 7 3 2
Szenario 8 4 2
Szenario 9 1 3
Szenario 10 2 3
Szenario 11 3 3
Szenario 12 4 3
Szenario 13 1 4
Szenario 14 2 4
Szenario 15 3 4
Szenario 16 4 4

Durch Variation des Strom- und Luftspaltabstands berechnet und erzeugt EMS die Magnetkraft im oberen beweglichen Teil des Schützes. Abbildung 10 zeigt eine 3D-Darstellung der Kraftergebnisse. Die resultierende Kraft nimmt mit höherem Strom und kleinerem Spaltabstand zu.

Der untersuchte magnetische Aktuator weist bei geringem Stromverbrauch erhebliche Magnetkräfte auf, was diese Kategorie von Schaltern im Vergleich zu anderen herkömmlichen Typen populärer macht.

3D-Diagramm der erzeugten Kraft gegen Strom und Luftspalt

Abbildung 10 - 3D-Diagramm der erzeugten Kraft in Abhängigkeit von Strom und Luftspalt.

Fazit

Ein nicht lineares magnetostatisches Problem wurde unter Verwendung einer EMS-Simulationssoftware untersucht. Die Magnetkraft über ein Gleichstromschütz wurde gegen viele Stromerregungen und für verschiedene Luftspaltabstände berechnet.

Um das Design und den Wirkungsgrad solcher elektromagnetischer Aktuatoren zu optimieren, ist es dringend erforderlich, die erzeugten Magnetkräfte auszuwerten, um genauere Ergebnisse für verschiedene Szenarien der Schaltgeräte zu erzielen. Da die Zuverlässigkeit und Lebensdauer elektromagnetischer Schütze immer wichtiger werden, arbeiten die Hersteller jetzt an neuen Geräten mit elektronischer Steuerung, um Probleme im Zusammenhang mit Kontaktsprüngen, übermäßiger Erwärmung und sogar Kontaktschweißen zu vermeiden [2]. Dies ermöglicht es, den herkömmlichen elektromagnetischen Schützen sowohl Leistung als auch Zuverlässigkeit zu verleihen.

Verweise

 [1]. Le Van, V., 2015. Développement de formulations intégrales de volume en magnétostatique (Doctoral dissertation, Université Grenoble Alpes).
[2]. Perin, Arnaldo JosÉ. "An electronic control unit for reducing contact bounce in electromagnetic contactors." IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics 55.2 (2008): 861-870.

FULLY EMBEDDED SIMULATION

3D FEM simulation of a DC non-linear Contactor

HOME / Applications / 3D FEM simulation of a DC non-linear Contactor

Applications

Introduction

Magnetic actuators are based on electromagnetic field to convert electrical energy into mechanical energy. Depending on the type of generated motion; linear or rotational movement, electromagnetic actuators are classified in two categories: rotary and linear actuator.
Among the applications of DC actuators, we find the electromagnetic contactors based on linear motion. They are widely used for making and breaking connections as switchgear equipment for electrical power sources.  They are generally composed of permanents magnets, solenoids and ferromagnetic parts.

In many industrial applications, the energy-saving performance of devices is often a very attractive benefit. Particularly, a new type of DC contactor electronically controlled, associated with a permanent magnet has drawn more and more attention in recent years because of its outstanding benefits, such as energy-saving and noise-free characteristics.

The studied DC contactor is made of three parts: a non-linear ferromagnetic core, with its two moving and fixed parts, excited by a DC copper coil, like demonstrated in the figure 1.

Schematic illustration of the DC contactor
Figure 1 - Schematic illustration of the DC contactor

Problem description

The Magnetostatic module of EMS is employed to compute the generated force across the air gap between the lower and upper moving part of the nonlinear ferromagnetic core. The simulated model has a translational invariance along the z axis. The work coil is made of 1000 turns of copper wires carrying a DC current of 2A. The air gap between the fixed and moving part is set to 5 mm. The 3D design of the studied model with the detailed dimensions are shown in the figure2.
a) 3D design, b) frontal and c) side view of the DC contactor 
Figure 2 - a) 3D design, b) frontal and c) side view of the DC contactor
 
The physical properties of the copper used for the work coil, are defined in the table 1 below:
Table 1 - Material properties

Material
Density
(begin mathsize 12px style K g divided by m cubed end style)
Magnetic permeability Electrical conductivity
(S/m)
Thermal conductivity
(W/m.K)
Specific heat capacity
(J/Kg.K)
Copper (Cu) 8900 0.99 6 E+07 385 390



 
The core is made of nonlinear ferromagnetic material, for which the BH relation can be defined by the expression below:
B left parenthesis H right parenthesis space equals mu subscript 0 H space plus space fraction numerator 2 J s over denominator straight pi end fraction a r c tan open parentheses fraction numerator straight pi left parenthesis straight mu subscript straight r space minus 1 right parenthesis straight mu subscript 0 space end subscript straight H over denominator 2 J s end fraction close parentheses   [1]
 
With: J s equals 1 space T e s l a: Saturation value of B field
          mu subscript r equals 1000  : Initial permeability
          mu subscript 0 equals 4 straight pi 10 to the power of negative 7 end exponent : Vacuum permeability
 
The corresponding BH curve is defined by the next 2D plot:
 
BH curve
 
Figure 3 - BH curve
 
Mesh quality is critical to every FEM simulation. The results accuracy and the solving time are strongly dependent on the mesh size. EMS allows user to control the mesh size on solid bodies and faces through its Mesh control feature. In this example, a fine mesh control
Was applied to our studied model for more precise results.
The meshed model
 
Figure 4 - The meshed model

Results

The work principle of the magnetic contactor consists of passing a DC current through a multi turn coil which can generate a static magnetic flux. The magnetic flux density will produce a constant magnetic force on the moving part of the ferromagnetic core. The Magnetostatic simulation revealed the results shown in the figures below.

1.Electromagnetic analysis

The distribution of flux density across the ferromagnetic core for a current excitation of 2A achieves a maximum value of 0.98T like shown in the figure 5.
Fringe
vector plot of Magnetic flux distribution
Figure 5 - a) Fringe and b) vector plot of Magnetic flux distribution
 
The magnetic force distribution across the area between the moving and fixed part is shown by the figure 6. It is computed inside EMS through virtual work feature.
vector plot of force density distribution
Figure 6 - vector plot of force density distribution

2.Electromagnetic analysis coupled to SOLIDWORKS motion

By coupling the Magnetostatic module of EMS with motion inside SOLIDWORKS, the solver of SW Motion uses the computed force and converts it into a mechanical motion. It allows to visualize the variation of the moving part position versus time.
 Under a fixed current excitation of 2A, and after t=3.5 ms, the simulation revealed the next results. The variation of the generated force and the Center of mass position of the moving part versus time are given by figure 7. This position is giving an idea about the air gap variation between the two parts of the magnetic contactor versus time. It is decreasing from d=5mm to d=2.3 mm.
 
Force variation
Center of mass position of the moving part versus time.
Figure 7 - a) Force variation and b) Center of mass position of the moving part versus time.
 
The instantaneous linear velocity could be computed by SOLIDWORKS motion analysis and visualized by EMS results table. It has a maximum value of 1.77 m/s at t=3,5ms. It acts proportionally to the generated force.
Linear velocity variation versus time
Figure 8 - Linear velocity variation versus time.
Magnetic flux density animation versus the moving part displacement
Figure 9 - Magnetic flux density animation versus the moving part displacement

3.Parametric analysis

EMS allows to analyze the several aspects of the studied electromagnet through the run of different scenarios in a single study by parameterizing both simulation and geometrical variables.

This feature is used to compute the generated force of the studied contactor versus current excitation and air gap distance between the two parts.

The selected parametric variables are shown in the next table:

Table 2 - Simulation scenarios
Scenarios Air gap length (mm) Current (A)
scenario 1 1 1
scenario 2 2 1
scenario 3 3 1
scenario 4 4 1
scenario 5 1 2
scenario 6 2 2
scenario 7 3 2
scenario 8 4 2
scenario 9 1 3
scenario 10 2 3
scenario 11 3 3
scenario 12 4 3
scenario 13 1 4
scenario 14 2 4
scenario 15 3 4
scenario 16 4 4
 

By varying both current and air gap distance, EMS computes and generates the magnetic force in the upper moving part of the contactor. Figure 10 shows 3D plot of the force results. The resultant force increases with higher current and smaller gap distance.

The studied magnetic actuator is showing significant amounts of magnetic forces under low power consumption, which makes this category of switchers more popular compared to other conventional types. 

3D graph of the generated force versus Current and Air gap

Figure 10 - 3D graph of the generated force versus Current and Air gap.

Conclusion

A non-linear magnetostatic problem was investigated using EMS simulation software. The magnetic force over a DC contactor, was computed versus many current excitations and for different air gap distances.

To optimize the design and the efficiency of such Electromagnetic actuators, evaluating the generated magnetic forces is highly required to achieve more accurate results for several scenarios of the switchgear equipment. As well, With the increasing concern on reliability and life time of electromagnetic contactors, manufacturers are now working on new devices equipped with electronic control to avoid problems related to contact bounce, excessive heating and even contact welding [2]. It allows to bring both performance and reliability to the conventional electromagnetic contactors.

References

 [1]. Le Van, V., 2015. Développement de formulations intégrales de volume en magnétostatique (Doctoral dissertation, Université Grenoble Alpes).
[2]. Perin, Arnaldo JosÉ. "An electronic control unit for reducing contact bounce in electromagnetic contactors." IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics 55.2 (2008): 861-870.